RecoveryPriceTracker

Massage chair price ranges: what you get at each price

Last updated . Figures come from our nightly price checks, as of the date shown in each section.

In this guide
  1. How to read the tiers
  2. Under $2,000 (69 models)
  3. $2,000 to $4,999 (121 models)
  4. $5,000 to $9,999 (127 models)
  5. $10,000 and up (95 models)
  6. The tiers at a glance
  7. “Discounts” shrink as prices rise
  8. Size and fit come before features
  9. How to use this guide
  10. Where these numbers come from

Massage chairs range from a few hundred dollars to the price of a small car. In our October 17, 2026 check of 18 stores, the lowest prices across 412 chair models ran from $560 to $49,990. The median was $5,999, and the middle half fell between $2,999 and $9,999.

This guide breaks that range into four tiers and shows what the stores themselves state about chairs in each one: roller type, track, and common features. It’s about specs and prices, not about what any chair does for your body.

How to read the tiers

For each model we take the lowest price we found across the stores that sell it. We grouped models by that price. Feature percentages are the share of models in the tier where the store states the feature. “Not stated” doesn’t mean the chair lacks it, only that the listing doesn’t say.

Under $2,000 (69 models)

What this tier usually means: full-body chairs with the core features (recline, heat, a roller mechanism). This is where you’ll see the biggest “discounts” against compare-at prices (median implied discount 50%, more on that below). Check build details the listing does state: warranty terms, user height and weight range, and dimensions.

$2,000 to $4,999 (121 models)

What this tier usually means: the busiest part of the market. Compared with the tier below, more listings state body scan and foot rollers, and 4D mechanisms start to show up. Many chairs here are sold by both brand stores and dealers, so comparing stores pays off (see dealer vs. brand store).

$5,000 to $9,999 (127 models)

What this tier usually means: 4D mechanisms, longer tracks, more airbags and more premium materials. This is the biggest tier in our data (127 models). Feature checklists start to look alike, so differences come from mechanism design, track length, fit range, warranty and in-home service.

$10,000 and up (95 models)

What this tier usually means: premium and flagship models, including chairs from Japanese brands such as Fujiiryoki and Inada, and chairs with dual mechanisms. Oddly, listings here state basic specs less often than mid-range chairs. Many sell on brand and design and leave the details to a spec sheet or a sales call. If you’re spending this much, ask for the full spec sheet and warranty terms in writing.

The tiers at a glance

TierModelsMost common stated rollersBody scan statedFoot rollers statedMedian implied “discount” on compare-at listings
Under $2,000693D43%39%50%
$2,000 to $4,9991213D, then 4D69%64%39%
$5,000 to $9,9991274D72%70%29%
$10,000+954D (many not stated)55%56%15%

“Discounts” shrink as prices rise

The last column is worth a closer look. Among chair listings showing a compare-at price, the implied discount (compare-at vs selling price) had a median of 50% under $2,000 but only about 15% above $10,000.

A 50% “discount” on a lower-priced chair doesn’t mean you’re getting a premium chair at half price. It may only mean the compare-at price is set high. Judge the chair on its specs and its price at other stores, not the percentage. We dig into this in are massage chair MSRPs real?

Size and fit come before features

Whatever your budget:

How to use this guide

  1. Pick a budget including delivery and any setup fee.
  2. Use the tier above to set expectations for rollers, track and features.
  3. Filter our all massage chairs page by roller type, track and height to build a shortlist.
  4. Check each shortlisted chair at every store we track. Many are sold at more than one.
  5. Read 2D vs 3D vs 4D rollers if the labels are new to you.

Where these numbers come from

Nightly check of 18 massage chair stores on October 17, 2026: 412 models from 673 listings. Prices are the lowest price per model across stores. Feature shares count only chairs where the store states the feature. Implied discounts compare the store’s displayed compare-at price with its selling price, and we don’t verify compare-at prices.

More buying guides

All guides →

Massage chair buying guide: 2D vs 3D vs 4D rollers, L-track vs S-track

What roller and track labels on massage chairs mean, how often stores state them, and what each type sells for across 412 chairs we track.

Are massage chair MSRPs real? What compare-at prices tell you (and don't)

59% of massage chair listings we track show a compare-at price, with a median implied discount of 30%. Here's what our cross-store data says about those 'original' prices.

Dealer vs. brand store: where massage chair and sauna prices differ

On saunas sold by both a brand store and a dealer, the dealer was cheaper 84 times out of 97 in our tracking. For massage chairs, half were the same price everywhere. What that means for where you buy.

How to check if a recovery gear price is good: a step-by-step method

A repeatable way to judge a massage chair or sauna price using cross-store prices, price history and total cost, plus how RecoveryPriceTracker collects the numbers.